top of page
  • Writer's pictureGinu_George

Colour Methodology

Updated: Jan 8, 2019

As my concept is about skin and undressing, it was a challenge to make colours relatable and as close as possible to what I had in my mind. We dyed around 60- 70 shades on lycra, satin, and mesh for sampling and reference. I picked up a brochure from bobby brown for their 40 coloured foundations and eye shadow. These images very similar tones and was slightly devastating, because ink densities on the press have a significant effect and subtle variations in it, also skin tones that could be construed as too pink or too yellow if photographed separately prove to be accurate representations of natural colour variations as to when shown together.


A Page from my sketch book



I marked the ones that I wanted; it was a challenge to get the colours right as the skin is not a flat colour and faces are never one tone and reflection plays a very crucial role in defining a colour. We marked small circles on the shade I liked, and we tried to dye the fabrics in those colours. It was almost never that it was the same sometimes we would end up having a beautiful more natural colour than what it was meant to and other times it would either be too dull or too bright. From the 70 shades, I picked 20 far apart from each other most of the colours had a reddish or a yellowish undertone to make it all go along with each other. Reflecting on that, I feel it would have been better to use some objects with the same colours than to have a printout for colour matching.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page